SAFE EXIT

Futures Without Violence
Can't see the email? View it on your browser.

FWV General eBanner plain

Donate | Tell A Friend | Visit Us Online

Join us for these free webinars!

 

Part 1: Strengthening Healthcare-based Domestic Violence Programs through Evaluation

Date & Time: Tuesday, January 8th, 1:00-2:30pm Eastern (10-11:30am Pacific/ 11-12:30pm Mountain/ 12-1:30 Central)

Register for Part 1: http://bwjp.ilinc.com/register/cmhcsmf

Speakers: 

  • Nancy Durborow, Retired, former Health Projects Manager, PA Coalition Against Domestic Violence
  • Krista J. Kotz, PhD, MPH, Family Violence Prevention Program, Kaiser Permanente Northern California Region
  • Annie Lewis-O'Connor, NP, MPH, PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Brigid McCaw, MD, MPH, MS, Family Violence Prevention Program, Kaiser Permanente Northern California Region
  • Colleen T. Moore, Family Violence Response Program, Mercy Medical Center

Many health care facilities across the U.S. have hired domestic violence/sexual assault (DV/SA) advocates to provide on-site services or utilize trained social workers and other trained health care staff to provide DV/SA intervention and referral. Ongoing evaluation is a critical component to measure the effectiveness of such programs. This webinar is for new and experienced DV/SA advocates, health care administrators/providers and students who want to learn more about evaluating healthcare-based DV/SA programs. This webinar will address the importance of understanding and developing quality improvement measures and annual goals that evaluate how the program is doing; where and how efforts should be targeted; alignment with organizational priorities; and overall program improvement. 


Part 2: Strengthening Healthcare-based Domestic Violence Programs through Evaluation 

Date & Time: Thursday, January 31st, 12-1:30pm Eastern (9-10:30am Pacific/ 10-11:30am Mountain/ 11-12:30 Central) 

Register for Part 2: http://futureswithoutviolence.adobeconnect.com/january31/event/registration.html

Speakers:

  • Jeff Coben, MD, West Virginia University Injury Control Research Center
  • Nancy Durborow, Retired, former Health Projects Manager, PA Coalition Against Domestic Violence
  • Lynn M. Short, PhD, MPH, Analytic Systems Associates, Inc.
  • Therese Zink, MD, MPH, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Minnesota

Building on Part 1, this webinar will focus on validated tools designed to evaluate the integration of a healthcare-based response to domestic violence (DV), and measure physician preparedness to support patients experiencing DV.  Dr. Coben will discuss the Delphi Instrument for Hospital-Based Domestic Violence Programs, a tool that has been used extensively to measure nine domains of program activities. Dr. Zink will discuss the Family Violence Quality Assessment Tool for Primary Care Offices, a tool for identifying deficiencies so they can be remedied and improved. Dr. Short will discuss the Physician Readiness to Manage Intimate Partner Violence Survey (PREMIS) tool, a comprehensive and reliable survey measuring health care provider preparedness to manage patients experiencing intimate partner violence.  

 

QUESTIONS? Contact Vedalyn DeGuzman: vdeguzman@futureswithoutviolence.org  or 415-678-5500.

 

These webinars are sponsored by Futures Without Violence’s National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence. The Center is funded by a grant from the Family Violence Prevention & Services Program, Family & Youth Services Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.



FaceBook-20x20.png    twitter-20x20.png   Unsubscribe | Forward to a Friend | Visit our web site
 

Futures Without Violence
100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio
San Francisco, CA 94129-1718
tel: 415.678.5500 | fax: 415-529-2930
© 2012 All rights reserved.

Horizon footer